The First Post

1 09 2007

How do you approach your first post? I have always found that the first posts are the hardest. I am not implying that I’m a serial blog-starter. It’s just that this is my third bl… ok, ok fourth blog. And the thing I have found the hardest in flagging-off a spankin’ new blog is the very first post. Don’t believe me? Let me explain…

The first post is where you write down your resolutions for the blog. And just like any other kind of resolution, this one too is invariably broken. In fact, in two of my previous three blogs, I made such heavy resolutions that even a priest would have been proud of me. But I broke almost all of them in the very next post! 😦

The first post also sets the tone for what the blog will (or aspires to) become in the future. As you might have guessed by now… no luck for me there too. You know you screwed up big time when you read through your past posts and wonder if you were on two tanker loads of dope when you wrote such horrible sh*t! That feeling was fortified when I found out that my blog traffic was less than -1! How the hell does that happen?

But then a voice inside my head chided: “That’s what happens when you try to imitate others. Be yourself and be original!” Come to think of it, that voice sounded like Kevin’s conscience from ‘Wonder Years’. Anyways, I thought enough was enough. I’ll start a new blog. But this time, this time, I will let my imagination do the talking. No emulations. Just me, me and more me!

I have both made resolutions as well as set the tone (slightly, at least) for the blog already. “What is different this time” you ask? Well, this time, I know these resolutions will be broken. And you know what? I don’t care. I’m me and this blog will be me. See you around.